Miniature Worlds-Tiny Bedroom

I’ve always been fascinated with the beautiful miniature rooms dotted across Pinterest. They were so bright, clean, modern…it was like a real home in this day and age. They’re so unlike what we mostly think of dollhouses- old granny playthings with flowered blankets and cheesy wallpaper. But yes, there is such a thing as a modern dollhouse. Although I would love to have an entire home, I decided to experiment first- so I made just one room. I started with a child’s bedroom, mainly because one of the first things i wanted to make was one of those cute play teepees. So I gathered up a shoe box and some paper and got to work. And here’s what I came up with!

Number One

Isn’t it cute? And not so granny. I love the artwork and probably my favorite part is the exposed brick. All of the furniture was DIYed or repurposed things from around the house. The floor was printed from Google Images as well as the brick walls and artwork. The chandelier was a quick DIY with copper wire, pearl beads, and hot glue. The stools were wooden blocks that I painted gold on the top.

 

Here’s the cute play area! The picture looks strange, because I accidentally selected the wrong effect on the camera. I love the teepee. I made it from white felt and toothpicks. It’s surprisingly sturdy, but I still wouldn’t recommend stepping on it or something. 😉 The clock on the wall is a clock face printable glued to a bottle cap. For the picture frames, I used magnetic strips. The Just Be Cool wall art frame was a leftover scrap of the brick wall paper. The cute letters were from a spelling game . The red dollhouse is a Monopoly hotel, and the flower pillow in the teepee is a decorating from an old hairband. The little train, (it barely got cut out of the picture) is a Monopoly piece.

Number Three.jpg

I like the bed area. The blanket was some geometric fabric from a book cover that didn’t fit my book. 🙂 I made the pillow. The fruit cutouts were from a paintable picnic set.  Also, you get a closer look at the cute “exposed brick” walls. The bed was from a previous doll set. And finally, the toy train got in the picture!

Number Four

Here is the complete overview of the bedroom. It works best to Calico Critters scale, actually. I wish this bedroom was in full size for me. It makes me wish I was a tiny critter. 😉 I hope that if I make any other rooms, they will satisfy me as much as this one does. I think all that’s missing is a bowl of peaches, or something peachy. But this room really is modern. Looks like a bedroom straight out of IKEA. I love it and it turned out better than I expected! Stay creative,

~Peaches

Leave a Reply

